State of Victoria Skippycoin ICG

State of Victoria



Community, Business and Visitor Guide

State of Victoria Who's Who

Distinguished and Famous people from State of Victoria

Artists and Entertainers

  • Albert Tucker (1914-1999) - Australian painter and member of the Heide Circle
  • Barry Humphries (born 1934) - Comedian, actor, and writer, known for his character "Dame Edna Everage"
  • Dame Elisabeth Murdoch (1909-2012) - Philanthropist and matriarch of the Murdoch family
  • Fred Schepisi (born 1939) - Film director and screenwriter, known for his work in Australian and international cinema
  • Jillian Murray (born 1963) - Acclaimed contemporary artist known for her sculpture, installation, and performance works
  • Mirka Mora (1928-2018) - French-born Australian visual artist, known for her distinctive public artwork and murals in Melbourne


  • Adam Goodes (born 1980) - Former Australian rules footballer and Indigenous rights advocate
  • Danielle Mckenzie (born 1992) - International surf lifesaving champion and multiple-time gold medalist
  • Ian Thorpe (born 1982) - Former competitive swimmer and five-time Olympic gold medalist
  • Pat Cash (born 1965) - Former professional tennis player and Wimbledon champion (1987)
  • Ron Barassi (born 1936) - Iconic Australian rules football player, coach, and commentator
  • Shane Warne (born 1969) - Former international cricketer and one of the greatest spin bowlers in cricket history

Literature and Journalism

  • Christos Tsiolkas (born 1965) - Award-winning Australian author, best known for his novel "The Slap"
  • Dame Mary Gilmore (1865-1962) - Writer, journalist, and women's rights advocate
  • Germaine Greer (born 1939) - Renowned feminist writer, academic, and public intellectual
  • John Marsden (born 1950) - Australian writer and educator, known for his young adult fiction series "Tomorrow"
  • Peter Carey (born 1943) - Internationally acclaimed Australian novelist, two-time Booker Prize winner
  • Tony Wright - Award-winning journalist and longtime correspondent for The Age newspaper

Science and Innovation

  • Alfred Deakin (1856-1919) - Second Prime Minister of Australia and leading figure in the federation movement
  • Elizabeth Blackburn (born 1948) - Nobel laureate and molecular biologist, known for her groundbreaking work on telomeres and aging
  • Florence Violet McKenzie (1890-1982) - Electrical engineer, inventor, and first Australian woman to be a qualified radio operator
  • Frank Macfarlane Burnet (1899-1985) - Nobel laureate and virologist, awarded for his research on immunity
  • Ian Frazer (born 1953) - Immunologist and co-creator of the HPV vaccine
  • Thomas Holloway Beasley (1855-1930) - Chemist and geologist, known for his contributions to metallurgy and mineralogy


  • Andrew Fisher (1862-1928) - Three-time Prime Minister of Australia, known for his significant social reforms
  • Dame Margaret Guilfoyle (born 1926) - First woman to hold a cabinet post in the Australian federal government
  • John Brumby (born 1953) - Former Premier of Victoria and notable labor politician
  • Julia Gillard (born 1961) - Former Prime Minister of Australia, known as the country's first female prime minister
  • Richard Casey (1890-1976) - Governor-General of Australia, diplomat, and politician
  • Sir John Gorton (1911-2002) - Prime Minister of Australia and leader of the Liberal Party
Please like our Page

Is there someone we have missed? Would you like to honor a distinguished resident from State of Victoria? We welcome the public to sponsor individuals by creating your own permanent article in the State of Victoria Hall of Fame

The Great Ocean Road Southern Victorian Coastline thanks to Cassie Lafferty